Volumio2 and brutefir...

Discuss, contribute and orient Volumio development!

Ads helps Volumio remain Free and Open Source. Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Volumio2 and brutefir...

Postby balbuze » Wed Nov 16 2016 20:56

I have it working by do something not very "official". But I you want to test it :
Don't complain if nothing works after that (due to an error) ;)
I commented two lines in
Code: Select all
/volumio/app/plugins/audio_interface/alsa_controller/index.js

line 481 and 482
Code: Select all
this.config.set('outputdevicename', data.i2sid.label);
         OutputDeviceNumber = I2SNumber;

become
Code: Select all
// this.config.set('outputdevicename', data.i2sid.label);
      //   OutputDeviceNumber = I2SNumber;


no you can save the output you want... But warning the mixer may be wrong so choose software mixer !
This by waiting a true solution....
User avatar
balbuze
Moderator
 
Posts: 1637
Joined: Thu May 08 2014 08:42
Location: Isère France

Ads helps Volumio remain Free and Open Source. Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.


Volumio2 and brutefir...

Postby freezebox » Wed Nov 16 2016 21:49

Now it plays music!

But volume control does not work...keeps on selected value for start volume in playback options

DAC selection works well now, sometimes a "2" shows up as DAC in plugin adv. settings (?).

After disable the plugin, it could not be enabled again (even after reboot), but green dot is now showing up when active (but does not switch to red when disabled)

Uninstall process works now!

Thanks for this improvement - all in all a step forward towards a perfect working brutefir solution!
Random avatar
freezebox
Fresh off the boat
Fresh off the boat
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 14 2016 21:48


Volumio2 and brutefir...

Postby malcox » Wed Nov 23 2016 13:32

I can't use it.
I have 2.01 volumio on raspy 2 b+
And my interface is digi + to exit by spdif to dac

I set loopback and in the plugin now appear outpit hifiberry DAC .
But didn't work.
For me it s also impossible to see the plugin activated. Remain red spot.
Thanks for your work
Random avatar
malcox
Fresh off the boat
Fresh off the boat
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 10 2016 21:56


Volumio2 and brutefir...

Postby balbuze » Wed Nov 23 2016 17:14

Hi!
The plugin stay inactived (red dot) if Brutefir does not start properly.
I never test it with digi + but I don't see why it don't work. Have you change to two line as described in a previous post ?
If not, Loopback is selectable but when you save it is remplaced by the i2s dac.
Once it is done, in plugin advanced setting select the good output and save.
If nothing happens, open a ssh console and enter
Code: Select all
systemctl status brutefir

if not working try to see the problem with :
Code: Select all
brutefir /data/configuration/miscellanea/brutefir/volumio-brutefir-config

and paste the output
User avatar
balbuze
Moderator
 
Posts: 1637
Joined: Thu May 08 2014 08:42
Location: Isère France


Re: Volumio2 and brutefir...

Postby cmsgarb » Tue Nov 29 2016 07:17

Hi,
I just want to give Feedback on the plugin:
I used to use brutefir on 1.55 and was curious on 2.0. Thus I downloaded the latest Image and the brutefir plugin and installed it on a rp3 with hifiberry dac+. In principle it worked immediately. This is pretty good, my first try with brutefir took me several weeks to get it running.

I can use my old float 32 le filters. Only limitation is that I cannot control volume, even not in SW. In my old configuration I also was not able to use HW volume but SW volume was working. Thus my question will you try to work on the volume?

Best Regards and thanks for your effort so far....

Christian

Gesendet von meinem Redmi Note 3 mit Tapatalk
Random avatar
cmsgarb
Sunday DIYer
Sunday DIYer
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Apr 22 2015 19:05


Volumio2 and brutefir...

Postby balbuze » Tue Nov 29 2016 10:11

Hi!
Good !
It should work with Software mixer. Use a recent volumio image. And it's true it's a bit tricky to get softvol to work.,. Save several times, try to set none save and reselect software mixer....
User avatar
balbuze
Moderator
 
Posts: 1637
Joined: Thu May 08 2014 08:42
Location: Isère France


Re: Volumio2 and brutefir...

Postby cmsgarb » Tue Nov 29 2016 10:16

I will try later. Thanks
Random avatar
cmsgarb
Sunday DIYer
Sunday DIYer
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Apr 22 2015 19:05


Re: Volumio2 and brutefir...

Postby cmsgarb » Thu Dec 01 2016 09:40

Hi,

I observed some inconsistencies: As you said, deactivating and activating + reboot led to a working SW volume. Then I reconfigured the volume Limits and characteristics and suddenly I got an Error that the output device is not found. I tried to reconfigure loopback but did not suceed to get it working....

I will Start from the plain Image on the weekend....

BR

Christian
Random avatar
cmsgarb
Sunday DIYer
Sunday DIYer
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Apr 22 2015 19:05


Volumio2 and brutefir...

Postby balbuze » Thu Dec 01 2016 10:00

I don't think a new install is needed. The problem comes from volumio itself. Most of the time you have to fight to get softvol working. Disabling enabling mixer, i2s dac changing output save reboot... All that with no real order..(or I don't find one). And it comes back to life... Keep me in touch.
What do you think of parameters settings in the plugs n ? Do I missed something ? Don't hesitate to give feedback!
User avatar
balbuze
Moderator
 
Posts: 1637
Joined: Thu May 08 2014 08:42
Location: Isère France


Re: Volumio2 and brutefir...

Postby cmsgarb » Thu Dec 01 2016 11:03

Ok I will try again although I already did yesterday for quite a long time.

Regarding Plugin everything was fine. I managed to get my old filters working with no big effort.

A real goal would be to get HW volume working. This would avoid the Brutefir latency.....

Best Regards

Christian

Gesendet von meinem Redmi Note 3 mit Tapatalk
Random avatar
cmsgarb
Sunday DIYer
Sunday DIYer
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Apr 22 2015 19:05

PreviousNext

Return to Development talks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests