Volumio with 3.5" TFT Touch Screen (GPIO) RPi 3B+

Volumio on Raspberry Pi 3 B+ with 3.5’’ TFT Touch LCD

After many days of trying different guides I have finally managed to configure Raspberry Pi 3 B+ with 3.5’’ LCD that I bought from AliExpress. This will be step by step guide. If I did it you will too. I am absolute novice at the Linux world.

1. Download, extract and burn Volumio image. After you’ve done that, put microSD to your Pi.

2. Power the Pi, plug in the ethernet cable and wait for few moments.

3. Open your favourite browser and type in the address: volumio.local/

4. Go through basic configuration steps (you can now set up the WiFi if you prefer it over the cable).

5. When you’re done with this go to Settings, where you select Plugins. On the left side click on the Miscellanea tab and install Touch Display Plugin. This can take up to 10 minutes.

6. When the installation is over turn on the Touch Display (in the Installed Plugins tab).

7. Now you need to turn on the SSH. You can do it at this address volumio.local/dev Select Enable at the SSH. There will be no notification about it.

8. We will now need Putty. If you don’t have it you can get it here: putty.org/

9. Open Putty and connect to volumio.local. Use default username and password (both volumio).

10. If you already tried to get 3.5’’ LCD to work you will be familiar with next few famous lines. Copy and past them one by one at this exact order:

git clone https://github.com/goodtft/LCD-show
cd LCD-show/
sudo mkdir /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d
cd usr/
sudo cp tft35-overlay.dtb /boot/overlays/
sudo cp tft35-overlay.dtb /boot/overlays/tft35.dtbo
sudo cp -rf 99-calibration.conf-tft35-90  /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/99-calibration.conf
sudo mkdir -p /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/
sudo cp -rf ./usr/99-fbturbo.conf  /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/99-fbturbo.conf
  1. We are done with copying files. We will now edit calibration file with this command:
sudo nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/99-calibration.conf