Volumio Primo - Official Thread

Polls, free discussions and debates. Talk now or shut up forever

Ads helps Volumio remain Free and Open Source. Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Volumio Primo - Official Thread

Postby oupee » Wed Apr 17 2019 11:23

Hi.
Excuse me my English. Will be available for purchase pcb without digital out connector and without power connector?
Random avatar
oupee
Fresh off the boat
Fresh off the boat
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 17 2019 11:20

Ads helps Volumio remain Free and Open Source. Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.


Volumio Primo - Official Thread

Postby michelangelo » Wed Apr 17 2019 13:23

No, Primo is only available as a complete player
User avatar
michelangelo
Founder
 
Posts: 4777
Joined: Sun Dec 15 2013 23:18


Volumio Primo - Official Thread

Postby superuj » Thu Apr 18 2019 14:03

Is Primo available to U.S. customers yet?
Random avatar
superuj
Sunday DIYer
Sunday DIYer
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue May 17 2016 18:12


Volumio Primo - Official Thread

Postby michelangelo » Thu Apr 18 2019 15:59

Yes, ships at the end of April
User avatar
michelangelo
Founder
 
Posts: 4777
Joined: Sun Dec 15 2013 23:18


Volumio Primo - Official Thread

Postby superuj » Thu Apr 18 2019 16:37

Sorry that I have to ask for customer support on the forum ... I tried to put in a Customer Service Support message and it won't let me hit send.
There seems to have a glitch with the shopping cart. It won't let me place the order for "No shipping method has been selected ... check your address ... " I don't think there is any issue on the US address I input. The shipping method field does not have a drop down for me neither.
Random avatar
superuj
Sunday DIYer
Sunday DIYer
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue May 17 2016 18:12


Volumio Primo - Official Thread

Postby michelangelo » Thu Apr 18 2019 19:16

Sorry, it was an issue on our side. Now worldwide shipping is available again ;)
User avatar
michelangelo
Founder
 
Posts: 4777
Joined: Sun Dec 15 2013 23:18


Volumio Primo - Official Thread

Postby michelangelo » Thu Apr 18 2019 19:22

Sorry, it was an issue on our side. Now worldwide shipping is available again ;)
User avatar
michelangelo
Founder
 
Posts: 4777
Joined: Sun Dec 15 2013 23:18


Volumio Primo - Official Thread

Postby superuj » Mon May 20 2019 17:53

Primo has been playing at my home for a few days. I coupled it with Schiit Vali 2. Through a pair of modded Grado, the set up is very musical. To my surprise, the tiny kit power adapter handles very well. I will try to plug in a linear PSU later to see how it will improve further. I particularly like the metal case and no LED on the front. For the price of it, it's disruptive (from a price/value ratio perspective). Also wanted to mention the non-intrusive design. The matte black case let the digital part of my set up fade in the background and let the Bugle Boy tube glow and get all the attention it deserves. To play DSD files, it took some toying with the settings for DoP and reboots (incl. Volumio version updates). After 20 mins, the entire setup is up and running. Pretty happy so far.

Well done, Volumio!

John
Random avatar
superuj
Sunday DIYer
Sunday DIYer
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue May 17 2016 18:12


Volumio Primo - Official Thread

Postby Rheinholdsmonkey » Wed Jul 31 2019 22:23

Some comments on my Primo

I am guessing their inst much of critical mass of Primo owners yet or that i may be looking in the wrong forum
I expected to see a lot more discussions on this wonderbox!

After a few months I am still greatly impressed with my Primo's sound

I still haven't bee able to figure out why i cant tell much difference in sound between output by USB to my Cambridge 851D DAC using an upmarket USB cable that cost more than the Primo. and going out RCA from the Primo to my Cambridge 851E preamp .

The 851D now sits back in its box waiting for me to make up my mind whether to sell if off
as I just got a 851C (CD) that also has supposedly a pretty good build in DAC also

I am finding the only problem I have with it is that the Primo web interface on occasion just disappears after extend periods of non use..
I put the Primo on a UPS to see if its just the result of power events and disruptions because I live a rural area that power stability can be problem..

I keep meaning to find the time to play with settings of the Primo more , but honestly it sounds so good and is meeting my needs at present
I just seem to listen to it! rather than fiddle with it .

I have a couple of TB of Music in a shared folder on a computer on my home network and about 2,000 ish Albums on a USD DAS to the Primo

I have made no effort beyond just a simple A-Z setup and as i tend not to listen to playlists as I am an old fart and likes to hear the artists work as released and can curate my own listening thank you very much. Although I do find my self using the Primo internet radio at times that's been a fun bonus.

While as I have said I have very happy Primo ears at present , and initial setup was very easy , i would like to see more information on Primo configuration settings to see if I could set it up even better.

I am an equal opportunity listener , much vinyl , many CD, and Flac , not a purist at all and have what some would consider really good gear and my more audiophile friends look down on me as "entry level"

I will say that the difference between playback on my turntable or CD and the Primo is negligible in quality at a moderate volumes
with the same album ..its only at low volume levels I can tell the difference ..considering the turntable and CD player cost many times more than the Primo , like others have mentioned its very disruptive on the price point for the quality of sound .

I would like to next try the Primo on a Linear power supply and am waiting to see if the matching Lineo power supply goes to sale soon
if not any recommendation on a suitable linear power supply for it would be appreciated.
Random avatar
Rheinholdsmonkey
Fresh off the boat
Fresh off the boat
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 04 2019 20:08


Volumio Primo - Official Thread

Postby Vennesch » Tue Apr 28 2020 14:08

IR remote control for Primo. Anyone tried using a Flirc or some other usb IR remote control?

I have a logitech harmony to control all my devices and it would be awesome if I could use it on my Primo as well. I like using my Primo on my TV and don't want an extra remote/keyboard or mouse laying around. Any solutions?
Random avatar
Vennesch
Sunday DIYer
Sunday DIYer
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Apr 28 2020 14:04

PreviousNext

Return to Vox Populi

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests