Volumio 2 on TV box Amlogic S9xxx S8xxx

Volumio portings supported by community members

Ads helps Volumio remain Free and Open Source. Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Volumio 2 on TV box Amlogic S905\S905X\S912 S802\S812 S805

Postby balbes150 » Sat Apr 07 2018 12:12

The new version of Volumio image amls9xxx (s905\s905x\s912) 0.5_20180407.
Added inclusion of Wi-Fi module dhd by default. Now you will not need to manually start the module for WiFi. To update the Volume version (which is installed on the eMMC). you must run the new installation from external media.

Perhaps in the future, Volumio developers will add an update from their server through a web interface. ;)
User avatar
balbes150
Serious Listener
Serious Listener
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Nov 10 2017 14:46

Ads helps Volumio remain Free and Open Source. Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.


Volumio 2 on TV box Amlogic S905\S905X\S912 S802\S812 S805

Postby gkkpch » Sun Apr 08 2018 11:28

Our standard transfer option does not support copying to eMMC yet, but I'm currently adding it for Intel Atom Baytrail and Cherrytrail mini PCs.
For a Khadas user this might be a dangerous thing to use.
A safe option would be a Khadas-specific plugin which would call your install script.
Whether this will be done, mainly depends on how popular the TV Box version will get, so perhaps ;)

As to version 0.5, good and bad news.

The bad news: i2c still does not work.
When I do
Code: Select all
volumio@volumio:~$ sudo i2cdetect -y 1
   
then this is what I get as output
Code: Select all
    0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  a  b  c  d  e  f
00:          03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0a 0b 0c 0d 0e 0f
10: 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 1a 1b 1c 1d 1e 1f
20: 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 2a 2b 2c 2d 2e 2f
30: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 38 39 3a 3b 3c 3d 3e 3f
40: 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 4a 4b 4c 4d 4e 4f
50: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
60: 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 6a 6b 6c 6d 6e 6f
70: 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77   

Note that nearly all addresses are listed, which shouldn't be.
This is the dmesg output:
Code: Select all
[ 1767.250628] i2c i2c-1: [aml_i2c_xfer] error ret = -5 (-EIO)
[ 1767.252968] i2c i2c-1: token 1, master_no(1) 300K addr 0x30
[ 1767.258738] i2c i2c-1: [aml_i2c_xfer] error ret = -5 (-EIO)
[ 1767.264209] i2c i2c-1: token 1, master_no(1) 300K addr 0x30
[ 1767.270117] i2c i2c-1: [aml_i2c_xfer] error ret = -5 (-EIO)
[ 1767.275659] i2c i2c-1: token 1, master_no(1) 300K addr 0x30
[ 1767.283381] i2c i2c-1: [aml_i2c_xfer] error ret = -5 (-EIO)
[ 1767.287162] i2c i2c-1: token 1, master_no(1) 300K addr 0x31
[ 1767.292725] i2c i2c-1: [aml_i2c_xfer] error ret = -5 (-EIO)
[ 1767.298466] i2c i2c-1: token 1, master_no(1) 300K addr 0x31
etc.
etc.


When I try to setup i2c for the HiFi Shield 2 DAC I get
Code: Select all
 1952.412539] pcm512x 1-004c: Failed to reset device: -11
[ 1952.417958] pcm512x: probe of 1-004c failed with error -11
[ 1952.423473] i2c i2c-1: new_device: Instantiated device pcm5242 at 0x4c


The good news:
I used Gouwa's method to connect SPDIF pin 13 (with pin 14 GND) to a coax interface, but added a 1K resistor to stay on the safe side.
Works perfectly, so SPDIF is OK. You do not have to connect to a TV, it will actually play in parallel.
There is no guarantee that it will be absolutely synchronous, because the coax interface is being processed separately, which potentially causes a small delay. In my setup there is no noticeable delay.
Volumio OS Developer

You like my work? Then what about buying me a beer :)
User avatar
gkkpch
Moderator
 
Posts: 1618
Joined: Mon Dec 29 2014 22:38
Location: Bodensee, Switzerland


Volumio 2 on TV box Amlogic S905\S905X\S912 S802\S812 S805

Postby balbes150 » Mon Apr 09 2018 13:51

gkkpch wrote:A safe option would be a Khadas-specific plugin which would call your install script.
Whether this will be done, mainly depends on how popular the TV Box version will get, so perhaps


I looked at the number of downloads on version 0.4 (for s9xxx), the system shows about 618 :) I think this is not the exact figure, it should be divided into 10 (maybe it will show multi-threaded downloads). I think the real users decided to try Volumio about 40-50 users today. Perhaps will remain enjoy 15-20 users. And if solve the issue with a quick start and remember the current playback, this number can increase significantly. :)
User avatar
balbes150
Serious Listener
Serious Listener
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Nov 10 2017 14:46


Volumio 2 on TV box Amlogic S905\S905X\S912 S802\S812 S805

Postby gkkpch » Mon Apr 09 2018 14:07

you can speed up bootime by reducing the boot delay to 2-3 seconds. That should be enough for usb to start.
You can look at the timestamps in dmesg output. Seems 2 is already enough, 3 perhaps to be safe.
Continue playing from the current I think is solved when you install the autoplay plugin.
Volumio OS Developer

You like my work? Then what about buying me a beer :)
User avatar
gkkpch
Moderator
 
Posts: 1618
Joined: Mon Dec 29 2014 22:38
Location: Bodensee, Switzerland


Volumio 2 on TV box Amlogic S905\S905X\S912 S802\S812 S805

Postby balbes150 » Tue Apr 10 2018 10:07

The new version amls9xxx of v 0.6.

Modules for i2s have been added. To use them, you need to select the appropriate audio output option in the settings.
Reduced start-up time from 10 seconds to 5 seconds. Waiting time can be easily changed by yourself (increase or decrease). To do this, change the number of "bootdelay=5" in/boot/uEnv-volumio.ini"

gkkpch wrote:you can speed up bootime by reducing the boot delay to 2-3 seconds

I checked on different USB flash drive, 3 little. i'm chose 5. For those who will use the system regularly, this option is easy to change\decrease yourself. I am guided by the fact that those who will try Volumio for the first time will use the simplest media, so need to reduce the risk of the problem at startup.
User avatar
balbes150
Serious Listener
Serious Listener
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Nov 10 2017 14:46


Volumio 2 on TV box Amlogic S905\S905X\S912 S802\S812 S805

Postby gkkpch » Sat Apr 14 2018 19:34

Volumio OS Developer

You like my work? Then what about buying me a beer :)
User avatar
gkkpch
Moderator
 
Posts: 1618
Joined: Mon Dec 29 2014 22:38
Location: Bodensee, Switzerland


Volumio 2 on TV box Amlogic S905\S905X\S912 S802\S812 S805

Postby balbes150 » Sun Apr 15 2018 06:56

H gkkpch

terry took off variant of the file with the settings for the remote control. I wanted to try adding it to the remote control plug-in and send a merge request. I've cloned GIT with plugins, but I see it as a different set of settings for different remotes (it's different than what comes with installing the plugin into a Volumio image). Is this git right for plugins or do I need another ?

New links I have added in the first post.
User avatar
balbes150
Serious Listener
Serious Listener
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Nov 10 2017 14:46


Volumio 2 on TV box Amlogic S905\S905X\S912 S802\S812 S805

Postby lights » Sun May 06 2018 18:49

Hello, I'm new on Volumio forum, and also a newbie ...
I'm trying to install Volumio on my android box MXIII-G 4K (AML S812, ram 1GB, eMMC 8GB, lan 1000M).
I downloaded the "volumio-2.394-2018-04-14-aml812armv7.img" image and flashed on sd card by Etcher.
Then I started my box and (with sd card inserted) in Android I have activated the multiboot by Update&Backup menu by select the "aml_autoscript" and then the box rebooted in Android.
Now, I have stopped and rebooted with sd card but nothing succeeded: the screen is blank. The box is connected by ethernet to my lan, From the browser ofanother my PC I prove to connect to http://volumio.local/ but without success.

Surely I have missing something, peraphs I have to insert in the sd the correct dtb from the list in dtb folder? Is the multiboot working? I don't know how to verify it.

Have you some help for me? Many thanks
Random avatar
lights
Fresh off the boat
Fresh off the boat
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 06 2018 17:48


Volumio 2 on TV box Amlogic S905\S905X\S912 S802\S812 S805

Postby balbes150 » Mon May 07 2018 08:22

lights wrote:Hello, I'm new on Volumio forum, and also a newbie ...
I'm trying to install Volumio on my android box MXIII-G 4K (AML S812, ram 1GB, eMMC 8GB, lan 1000M).
I downloaded the "volumio-2.394-2018-04-14-aml812armv7.img" image and flashed on sd card by Etcher.
Then I started my box and (with sd card inserted) in Android I have activated the multiboot by Update&Backup menu by select the "aml_autoscript" and then the box rebooted in Android.
Now, I have stopped and rebooted with sd card but nothing succeeded: the screen is blank. The box is connected by ethernet to my lan, From the browser ofanother my PC I prove to connect to http://volumio.local/ but without success.

Surely I have missing something, peraphs I have to insert in the sd the correct dtb from the list in dtb folder? Is the multiboot working? I don't know how to verify it.

Have you some help for me? Many thanks

Add the correct dtb file.
User avatar
balbes150
Serious Listener
Serious Listener
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Nov 10 2017 14:46


Volumio 2 on TV box Amlogic S905\S905X\S912 S802\S812 S805

Postby lights » Mon May 07 2018 12:21

Thanks balbes150.
To add the correct dtb I have to choose one from the list in dtb folder included in "volumio-2.394-2018-04-14-aml812armv7.img" and then rename it in dtb.img and insert in the sd card root folder, it's correct?
But is the correct dtb file for my device included in the dtb folder (I do not know what it may be, even if it were there) or I have to search for it elsewhere ?
I'm sorry for my elementary questions
Random avatar
lights
Fresh off the boat
Fresh off the boat
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 06 2018 17:48

PreviousNext

Return to Community portings

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests