RPi with official 7" Touchscreen, cannot operate volumio

Hello there.

I am new to volumio and tried to install volumio-2.587-2019-06-11-pi.img.zip on my Raspberry Pi 3B+ via a 4GB SDCARD, then on a new 32GB SDCARD. Interestingly the behaviour is exactly the same.

So what I did was to simply boot the Pi with the volumio image and wired lan connection and after some time I was able to connect to volumio.local. In there I could configure volumio for wireless LAN, configure access to my NAS and even play music on the web interface. So far so good.

The next step was to activate the TFT and touchscreen panel. It is the official Raspberry 7" TFT, and it is active even during boot. So when I installed the touchscreen plugin and rebooted the device it showed a mouse pointer on a grey background. So I found this page (touchscreen-only-grey-with-mouse-pointer-t8272.html) and installed all available updates (during which I had to go into interactive apt to respond to some UI questions), then I also installed the chromium browser.

After that volumio boots up ok, starts the browser and displays the same UI as I can see with the browser from another PC. So far so good again.

However Volumio now does not play songs any more. While the UI both on the touchscreen and in the remote browser operate well to configure volumio, any tap to play a song seems to have no effect. Also when I try to select a song from my NAS library it seems the volumio software seems to reboot. After all I hear the startup sound.

In some forum I found a hint this may be bound to no space on the SDCARD, so I bought a brand new one hence the switch from 4GB to 32GB. But the results are the same.

Did I install the touchscreen right? Why did I have to acknowledge some question manually when trying to run apt-get update? Why did I have to install chromium manually? Are these the right steps at all?