Parameters for Topping D10

Diy? Low-budget? Esoterics? Let's discuss about DACS!

Ads helps Volumio remain Free and Open Source. Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Parameters for Topping D10

Postby Kischa » Tue Dec 11 2018 22:16

Hello!

First of all thanks for Volumio 2 I really like it! :D

And here is my question:

I just bought myself a Topping D10 but Volumio 2 only fully supports Topping D30 & Topping D50.

Is there a workaround for this not fully supported device or should I just sit still in the boat until someone ads the parameters to the next distro ?
Random avatar
Kischa
Fresh off the boat
Fresh off the boat
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 16 2018 13:09

Ads helps Volumio remain Free and Open Source. Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.


Parameters for Topping D10

Postby Kischa » Tue Dec 18 2018 18:16

**Bump** :)
Random avatar
Kischa
Fresh off the boat
Fresh off the boat
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 16 2018 13:09


Parameters for Topping D10

Postby gkkpch » Tue Dec 18 2018 19:20

Topping D10 is supposed to be an XMOS based device and with the newer kernels this should enable it by default.
So I'm a little confused here, I suppose you used ssh to login and did
Code: Select all
lsusb

Code: Select all
lsusb -t

Code: Select all
aplay -l


If not, could you do that and, in both cases, give us the output?
Also, could you tell us which board you are running Volumio on?
Volumio OS Developer

You like my work? Then what about buying me a beer :)
User avatar
gkkpch
Moderator
 
Posts: 1563
Joined: Mon Dec 29 2014 22:38
Location: Bodensee, Switzerland


Parameters for Topping D10

Postby vinaysharma76 » Wed Dec 19 2018 09:37

Hi gkkpch,

My Asus Tinker board with Topping D10 DAC was working fine. but since I upgraded to the latest version I am facing the issue connecting this DAC. I need to reboot the volumio multiple times to be able to detect the Dac and get any sound. no change in any settings but this becomes recurring problem. i just wish to revert to previous version.
Random avatar
vinaysharma76
Fresh off the boat
Fresh off the boat
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 28 2018 03:47


Parameters for Topping D10

Postby Kischa » Fri Dec 21 2018 08:33

gkkpch wrote:Topping D10 is supposed to be an XMOS based device and with the newer kernels this should enable it by default.
So I'm a little confused here, I suppose you used ssh to login and did
Code: Select all
lsusb

Code: Select all
lsusb -t

Code: Select all
aplay -l


If not, could you do that and, in both cases, give us the output?
Also, could you tell us which board you are running Volumio on?


Great, I will give you this output data after christmas & new year!

Thanks and happy christmas to you :)

Btw, I have Volumio 2 on a Rpi 3b...
Last edited by Kischa on Fri Dec 21 2018 08:36, edited 1 time in total.
Random avatar
Kischa
Fresh off the boat
Fresh off the boat
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 16 2018 13:09


Parameters for Topping D10

Postby Kischa » Fri Dec 21 2018 08:35

vinaysharma76 wrote:Hi gkkpch,

My Asus Tinker board with Topping D10 DAC was working fine. but since I upgraded to the latest version I am facing the issue connecting this DAC. I need to reboot the volumio multiple times to be able to detect the Dac and get any sound. no change in any settings but this becomes recurring problem. i just wish to revert to previous version.


I also had that problem when using the update fuction but I solved it with a clean install.
Random avatar
Kischa
Fresh off the boat
Fresh off the boat
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 16 2018 13:09


Parameters for Topping D10

Postby vinaysharma76 » Fri Dec 21 2018 18:25

Thanks, I will give it a shot and update

Kischa wrote:
vinaysharma76 wrote:Hi gkkpch,

My Asus Tinker board with Topping D10 DAC was working fine. but since I upgraded to the latest version I am facing the issue connecting this DAC. I need to reboot the volumio multiple times to be able to detect the Dac and get any sound. no change in any settings but this becomes recurring problem. i just wish to revert to previous version.


I also had that problem when using the update fuction but I solved it with a clean install.
Random avatar
vinaysharma76
Fresh off the boat
Fresh off the boat
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 28 2018 03:47


Parameters for Topping D10

Postby gkkpch » Fri Dec 21 2018 21:11

DAC support differs between platforms, so it could be a working DAC on one is not working on the other.
It depends on the kernel, we try to sync support as good as possible between the ones we have influence on.
With the tinkerboard it is possible we lost something with our latest update as we had to reverse the kernel for serious technical reasons. We hope to fix this after the new year.
Volumio OS Developer

You like my work? Then what about buying me a beer :)
User avatar
gkkpch
Moderator
 
Posts: 1563
Joined: Mon Dec 29 2014 22:38
Location: Bodensee, Switzerland


Parameters for Topping D10

Postby vinaysharma76 » Sun Dec 23 2018 15:13

I am still facing issues with a clean install (and even older version of volumio) and DAC connection is still not stable. even with the older version. there are no issues with DAC is it works solidly with my Laptop.

Can anyone suggest some kind of diagnostic or something to try to check for possible issues?
Random avatar
vinaysharma76
Fresh off the boat
Fresh off the boat
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 28 2018 03:47


Parameters for Topping D10

Postby verkion » Fri Mar 01 2019 05:27

Hi, I too have a Topping D10 (with rPi3B+) and it seems DSD playback isn't working. You can just make out the faint sound of the song + a huge amount of static/white noise. Here is the output...this is with a clean (just formatted SD Card/imaged it 3 hours ago...) with 2.555 of Volumio.

[EDIT]
So it turns out that DSD works...but the volume has to be up at 100% otherwise there is static. Does that mean there is something "off" with the hardware mixer control and its ability to attenuate DSD volume?
[/EDIT]

[EDIT2]
So I had a complete brain meltdown, (as can be seen in my previous edit). DSD needs to be played at 100% volume...DUH. It even says that clear as day in the "set DSD volume level automatically" help/info button. Sorry about the dum, dum mixup!
[/EDIT2]

Thanks
verkion

lsusb
Code: Select all
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 152a:8750 Thesycon Systemsoftware & Consulting GmbH
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 0424:7800 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:2514 Standard Microsystems Corp. USB 2.0 Hub
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:2514 Standard Microsystems Corp. USB 2.0 Hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub


lsusb -t
Code: Select all
/:  Bus 01.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=dwc_otg/1p, 480M
    |__ Port 1: Dev 2, If 0, Class=Hub, Driver=hub/4p, 480M
        |__ Port 1: Dev 3, If 0, Class=Hub, Driver=hub/3p, 480M
            |__ Port 1: Dev 5, If 0, Class=Vendor Specific Class, Driver=lan78xx, 480M
            |__ Port 3: Dev 4, If 0, Class=Audio, Driver=snd-usb-audio, 480M
            |__ Port 3: Dev 4, If 1, Class=Audio, Driver=snd-usb-audio, 480M
            |__ Port 3: Dev 4, If 2, Class=Application Specific Interface, Driver=, 480M


aplay -t
Code: Select all
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: ALSA [bcm2835 ALSA], device 0: bcm2835 ALSA [bcm2835 ALSA]
  Subdevices: 7/7
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
  Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
  Subdevice #2: subdevice #2
  Subdevice #3: subdevice #3
  Subdevice #4: subdevice #4
  Subdevice #5: subdevice #5
  Subdevice #6: subdevice #6
card 0: ALSA [bcm2835 ALSA], device 1: bcm2835 ALSA [bcm2835 IEC958/HDMI]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 5: D10 [D10], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
Random avatar
verkion
Sunday DIYer
Sunday DIYer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 25 2019 20:57


Return to DACs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests