How to set up Volumio to reboot nightly

Guides to let you easily discover and enjoy Volumio

Ads helps Volumio remain Free and Open Source. Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Postby likescookies » Sun Mar 31 2019 12:06

I have a Raspberry Pi 3B that has been running Volumio for a couple of years through various versions of the OS. I use it exclusively as a DLNA renderer. The biggest issue I've had is stability when idle. If I don't use the machine for a few days in a row, which is common, it becomes unresponsive and I have to unplug it and replug it in to reboot it.

I don't know if it is a hardware issue or network issue or a problem in the OS, but I finally took some time to set up a cron job to reboot the machine in the middle of the night every night. This is a heavy-handed solution but in the couple of months since I made the change I've only had to reboot it manually once. A huge improvement.

I'm new at a lot of this--I didn't know what cron even was--so I'm documenting this here for other newbies (and for myself in the future if I ever need to do it again).

1. Enable SSH here: ipaddress/dev
2. Download PuTTY on my Windows machine.
3. Connect PuTTY to ipaddress with username and password volumio.
4. sudo nano /etc/crontab
5. Enter password again.
6. Down arrow to the lowest hash (#). ENTER to lower it, then up arrow to edit between them.
7. Add the following line: 00 8 * * * root reboot
8. CTL-X to exit, then Y to save changes and ENTER to accept default file name.

The 00 8 at the beginning of the new line sets the time of the reboot at 0800. When I was testing the reboot code, I first set the reboot to just a few minutes ahead of the current time, which is how I discovered that my Pi with Volumio isn't set to my current timezone; it's on Universal Time. Rather than figure out how to change the timezone, I just set it to reboot at 0800 UT, which is the middle of the night here.