Filter "The" from Artist's name - help to start

Hi all,

I’ve been using Volumio for several years now, and surprisingly Volumio’s browsing still does not filter “The” at the beginning of artist names (or albums, for that matter). In my opinion any good music library should do this, or at least have the option to do so.
Rather than whining about this, I figured that with a spare R-Pi and programming experience, this is a good challenge for me to contribute to Volumio :slight_smile:

I do need a bit of help on where to start though… I dove into the code on GitHub, and from there I found that the list is loaded by the CoreMusicLibrary. To me it looks that the list is once built by MPD upon updating/rescanning the library, and is later recalled as a database. Right?

From here on I need a bit of help to get on the right track. I think MPD should have functionality for this already, but after a brief search I have not found yet how. Furthermore I need to find out where to modify the MPD parameters for the database.

I’m looking for some input to get started on this. Thanks!

1 Like

No thoughts on this yet? I know this is not as ‘sexy’ as the hardcore developments. Nonetheless something that bugs me, and probably some others too.

I went deeper into MPD still and found that MPD actually supports a tag AlbumArtistSort. I’m not fully sure what its use is, but the MPD documentation states: “same as albumartist, but for sorting”. This tag is not configured in the mpd.conf, nor is it set in the library.

What do you think: is it something that should be done on the MPD-side or on loading the library?

1 Like

Sounds like a worthy contribution. It’s something that’s always bugged me too. Good luck with figuring it out. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I think it makes more sense to do it in Volumio’s library, rather than MPD. AlbumArtistSort is an ideal tag for doing this, but it does require users to manually edit those fields in whatever they’re using to manage files.