Budget-speakers

Hi there,

I’m new to volumio. Since yesterday volumio 2.118 is running using an RPi3/Touch display.
I already ordered a PiFi DAC+.

Now I’m looking for loud speakers, but there are is a endless choice on market.

The ones I’m looking for should be…

• not ugly :slight_smile:
  • in a price range from 0-120 Euro

Would be great to get some suggestions. Which pair of loud speakers does the community recommend?

If I were you, I’ll have a look at Q acoustics 2020 or 2020i. Plenty of good reviews. I never listened them, but for my office this a possible choice for the future ( or 3030)

But maybe to expensive for you…
Or other choice eltax monitor iii

Really cheaper : hificorner.eu/fr/enceintes- … 0wodShAMSA

Eltax are looking great, but in germany I can’t find any shop to buy from.

A silly question, I think, but I do have to ask: all of those speakers offer 2 connectors, Cinch/RCA red and white. The DAC offers white und red connectors, too, but only two of them, not 4 connectors for 2 speakers.

Okay, I have to connect those speakers to an amp / a/v-receiver, there is no way to connect them directly to the DAC?!

Q acoustics 2010i EUR 89/pc… is this comparable to teufel.de/stereo/ultima-20-mk2-p12793.html ?

If you do not want to use an amplifier, look for active speakers. Active speakers can be connected directly to a DAC.

Look at suppliers like
Audioengine
Krk
M-audio

But also a lot of the ‘normal’ speaker manifacturers have Active speakers in their lineup. Look at
Klipsch
Dali
Yamaha
Pioneer
Argos
B&w

Enough choise. Active speakers will always be a little bit more expensive than their passive sibblings as they have build in amplification.

My suggestion, go and listen to some:)

Good luck

With a risk to commit a blasphemy and swear in church ! :slight_smile:
Edifier (Chinese made) NO high end speaker ! but is given good criticism , my plan is to buy a pair of Studio 1600 TIII 2.0 as garage speakers (active speakers) for under 100 Euro